Chukka Cove : Jamaica

Heights were never my thing. I’ve touched all sorts of animals/insects & would try foods at least once, but don’t EVER ask me to jump from point A down to point B.

Destination: Chukka Cove
Location: St Ann, Jamaica

Jamaica’s Chukka tours open the doors to heaven for adrenaline junkies. The Chukka Farm, approximately 15 minutes away from Ocho Rios, can get you pumped on excitement from ATV adventuresΒ  to Horseback riding. What’s on the list of activities for today!? Cliff Jumping. The island’s north coast rocks frame the Caribbean sea to provide Chukka with their own private cove. This is where the jumping takes place, usually after the ATV safari tour. So yes, dipping in the cove would offer you that change of pace, well if you’re not one to jump from a cliff. Great coupling for a package if you ask me. Chukka Cove is a gorgeous pick!

WP_20151010_15_15_18_ProeditedThe cliff stands approximately 10ft above the clear blue water. I was honestly staring half the time. If I were to ever tell you the full conversation I had with God when I got to the location to jump, you’d laugh me to scorn. “Why couldn’t my fear be lizards?? Noooo, it had to be heights. Take it back!” Was apart of it.
I was:
Shaking
Flashing my hands
Shifting my weight from one foot to the other
Giving myself a funny pep talk I’ve witnessed a friend use.
Honestly, I called quits at least three times, and it took two lifeguards to help me to relax. Wow, this sounds horrible now that I’ve said it. I didn’t mind that water was about 25ft deep. The depth wasn’t the issue at all, just getting there was. Eventually, I told the lifeguards that I won’t ever feel ready and we should just jump after the count of 3. Of course there was screaming all the way down.Β I’ve never been so relieved to hit water in my entire life! Was it a good experience? Definitely. Would I ever jump again? Um…

Tip: Don’t think about it. (As if, but seriously.)
IMG-20151012-WA0057editedWP_20151010_15_20_21_ProWP_20151010_14_07_32_ProeditedIMG-20151012-WA0050edited

AdobePhotoshopExpress_f46541fcf520465c86db3b741837a72b
Have you ever been to Chukka Cove, or is it on your “must see” list? Tell me about your experience…..Ask me questions πŸ™‚

24 Comments Add yours

  1. Estella Gold says:

    This looks like an amazing experience! I’m not scared of heights so I would like to try it. And the water is so blue! I’ve never been to Jamaica but I would love to go someday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So happy you took the plunge…literally! Sounds like a must-do experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol Thank you! & yes we should try things at least once!

      Like

  3. deborahlamm says:

    I’m so scared to cliff jump!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fear of heights? Trust me, I know exactly how you feel. But you can do it!

      Like

    2. deborahlamm says:

      No it just looks so terrifying!

      Like

  4. Bahamianista says:

    Your blog is amazing! Beautiful pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m happy you stopped by!🌸

      Like

  5. Camille says:

    Wow, I have never heard of Chukka Cove before! What a lovely hidden gem πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. colbyholiday says:

    This looks absolutely amazing! So glad you conquered your fear (at least on that day haha) and jumped! Go you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It took a lot! Thank you πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. It is definitely on my must-see list! And your photos made it move up in priority too! Haha thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No prob! I hope you’ll get to experience it

      Like

  8. Arzo Travels says:

    What a great place to be right now…Daydreaming πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Swati says:

    Wow I never knew about this place. Amazing pics and great info. Glad you tried a new adventure. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m glad I didn’t leave without trying..

      Like

  10. Lana says:

    I think I would be the same and have someone push me before I change my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol I appreciate the honesty & thanks for the company πŸ™‚

      Like

  11. And you inspired all of the readers to take that plunge! Lovely photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really hope so, thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. alyssaacree says:

    OMG!!!! I don’t know if I could ever cliff jump…I thought about it briefly in Croatia because it didn’t look that high, but I decided that day wasn’t my day to die so I opted out. My adrenaline junkie boyfriend did it and said it was scarier than he thought it would be. Good for you for conquering that fear – I’m terrified of heights too so I understand how hard it must have been! I’ve never been to Jamaica but your pictures look so beautiful that now I have to go πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It was really hard but it’s something you have to just jump into without much thinking. You’ll get it next time!

      Like

Leave a Reply

