The 4 Activities at White River Valley: Jamaica

A good 11 km (~35 minutes) from the town of Ocho Rios, St Ann would take you to a little spot listed as one of Jamaica’s hidden treasures.

 

 

Location: St Ann, Jamaica

White River Valley is well known for numerous outdoor and water activities with organizations such as Chukka Adventures. This section of the river borders the parishes of St Mary and St Ann. Beingย secluded, this open destination is great for group or private road trips.
WP_20151003_12_17_06_Prologo.jpg
1. Rope swing from a bridge
Open-minded patrons are able to swing from a 17th century Spanish bridge, close to the mouth of the river. With a little demonstration from locals and upper body strength of course, you’llย certainlyย get a surge of adrenaline from this option.

2. River diving
At the end of a little bamboo passage, a wooden deck stands about 7 feet above the deep section of the river. You can choose a fancy dive and go for it! You can also see cliff diving here!

3. Swing over the river
Thanks to locals, you can swing over the river. As long as you can stomach the view and feeling as you hover, why not! Even with the stomach flutters when I was completely over the river, I’d knight this one as my favourite!
WP_20151003_12_24_28_Prologo

4. Swim
The final and obvious option. As simple as it is, what’s as calming as being immersed in a country side river? This is what mostย patrons would opt to do.

 

 

 

Have you ever been to White River Valley? Tell me about your experience…..Ask me questions ๐Ÿ™‚

26 Comments Add yours

  1. EverythingAliexpress says:

    Omg! That river valley looks gorgeous!! Love these pics xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chantell says:

    This looks incredible! I was in Montego Bay last year but hardly saw anything. My boyfriend has been to Ocho Rios and loved it – must get there one day soon :).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lucy says:

    what a heavenly place!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Eniko Krix says:

    Oh my, oh my.. looks like I need to visit Jamaica. I love water activities which are adventurous. This rope swing looks awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Come on down! lol

      Like

  5. Thanks for a sharing a side of Jamaica that we don’t often get to see. The rope swing looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No prob & thank you!

      Like

  6. Natasha says:

    I love adventure activities — I think I would love to try the rope swing!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. CAPE COCONUT says:

    That swinging over the river looks so awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Nice post, thanks for sharing!

    Tara & Vic

    http://www.capecoconut.com

    Liked by 1 person

  8. sonderbarmii says:

    Looks like a lot of fun! ๐Ÿ™‚ Although I’m not sure if I would try swinging from a bridge…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just get your upper body strength up & be ready!

      Like

  9. Heather says:

    Looks like fun! Thanks for sharing this hidden treasure, I always love finding lesser known places like this when I travel! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, they need lovin’ too!

      Like

  10. Gabby says:

    Wow, so so beautiful. I’m half Jamaican and my family goes back to Jamaica from time to time, so I’ll definitely need to tell them this is a place we need to stop by ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So the next visit? Lol Good stuff ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  11. Swinging over a river looks like something I would do all day long! ๐Ÿ˜€ So great ๐Ÿ™‚ Awesome post! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s scary (for me) but fun lol. Thanks!

      Like

  12. Lauren says:

    Man this has me dying for the summer! May have to hit up some tropical island (:

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Jess says:

    This is great! We have tons of swimming holes similar to this in Pennsylvania where I grew up. I would love to explore some in other countries ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yea you should definitely visit! Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  14. evaecasey says:

    Looks thrilling!! I have never been to Jamaica, but this looks super fun! Especially the rope swing, though I have a feeling my upper body strength would not be sufficient for that one..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just get your body ready before you visit ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

