Staten Island Ferry : New York

 

Location: Manhattan

Since Staten Island is the only island of New York City’s five boroughs (divisions), the ferry is a means of mass transport to this borough that isn’t connected to the New York Subway system. The island is about 150 km² compared to Jamaica’s 10,991 km², just to give you an idea of its size. However, the focus isn’t really Staten Island right now, it’s more about the 5 mile cruise to get there. Yes, there is the Verrazano bridge, but I’d dub this one the favourite of most visitors, especially since this 25-minute ferry ride and the views that come with it are entirely free.

staten-island-ferry
Photo credit: keyword-suggestions.com

The Staten Island Ferry leaves the Manhattan dock and coasts towards the island at 30-minute intervals. Boarding always looked never ending but it actually did not feel crowded once we were on and settled. The different floors of the ferry included seats, washrooms and (surprisingly) outlets. Don’t know why, but I’m always on the look out for outlets when I’m out lol. The seating areas led out onto decks that run along the sides of the ferry. Naturally, that’s exactly where most patrons, myself included, headed. As we drifted, New York City’s signature buildings and harbour came into view.

In all honesty, the ferry didn’t pass as close to the Statue of Liberty as I thought it would. I later learnt that you can get really close to the statue or even gain access to the property using tours such as Statue Cruises and Statue of Liberty Tickets.

photo-26-08-2016-5-11-54-plogo
Staten Island Ferry and the Statue of Liberty

So here’s an idea! Try taking the ferry in the late evening. Why? What had happened was, we ventured out in the late evening to avoid the summer’s midday sun. We all know how that is. Turned out that the trip back to Manhattan was during the sunset. Everything then had a tint of orange which made the experience feel surreal, and  a bit romantic. I preferred the second trip because of that new aura.  It was also my favourite because the trip back was where all the unwinding happened. All the anticipation from the newness of the ferry, had already left and finally everything was sinking in.

photo-26-08-2016-7-28-26-pmlogo
Staten Island Ferry, New York

 

photo-26-08-2016-7-26-21-pm-logo
Staten Island Ferry, New York
image
Staten Island Ferry #VSCO

 

My Highlight:

During the stop in Staten Island, we had pizza on the roof of the St George terminal. Our stomachs were full and there was good music, so why not dance right?? Eventually a fellow visitor joined our little dance party so that we could show her a thing or two.

 

Overall, the ferry ride is a really relaxing venture if you’re in the mood for the wind in your hair and  panoramic seascape.

 

How to get to the Staten Island Ferry:

•Trains: 1, R, N

•Buses: M5, M15, M15 SBS, M20

If you need additional help to get to South Ferry for the Staten Island Ferry, here’s the New York City Subway Map and the Manhattan bus routes.

Don’t be afraid to ask questions or share your experience! 😊

 

32 Comments Add yours

  1. nickyab says:

    Lovely pics and interesting views thank you 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you enjoyed it, thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Julie says:

    I used to live in NYC and always tell people to take this ferry when they visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Looks like an amazing experience. Can’t wait to get back to USA and explore some of these awesome places! Just gave you a follow on here

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I followed back!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. wanderingwagarschristina says:

    What a great tip! I hadn’t thought about taking the ferry so you would be on during sunset. I love the Manhattan skyline so I can just imagine how amazing it must have been from the water at sunset.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the tip to take the ferry during the sunset/dusk time! The reflections off the buildings are totally gorgeous!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kaylene Chadwell says:

    I loved taking the Staten Island Ferry on my first trip in NYC! I can’t believe such a cool activity is free there, but I love it haha. And you get such a wonderful view of Manhattan and the Statue of Liberty! Your photos are amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Staten Island seems quite good to visit then! I never went to New York but I’m planning on going and will add this to my list. Also, I adore the golden hour just as much as you, the lighting is then just beyond gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I would totally take this option over any other! It looks like a great trip! The sunset colors reflecting off the buildings are just gorgeous. Thanks for the tip. I’ll keep it in mind next time I go to NYC!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Love your description of the “aura” of sunset – sounds incredible 🙌 You definitely picked the right time to go, even if it was by accident! Sounds like a lovely break from city life, and thanks for sharing the tip about the ferry to get closer to the Statue of Liberty as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Anonymous says:

    Hi! I did took the staten island ferry when I went to NYC! So cool that it s free right? Didn t think about taking it at sunset though! Your pics look amazing!!! 👏🏼👏🏼

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ikr, I don’t know how it’s free! But let’s not give them any ideas lol 😆

      Like

  11. Johna says:

    New Yorkkkk!!! Beautiful photos ❤❤❤ we didn’t get to ride the staten island ferry while we were there. Hopefully on my next trip!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks & try iiiit!

      Like

  12. Kathy - Walkabout Wanderer says:

    I have done this trip many years ago when my brother was living in New York. It is a lovely boat trip which allows you to get near the Statue when you are travelling on a budget. Even if you are seeing the Statue on a different trip, it is still a wonderful trip.
    Thanks for sharing your trip. it brought back memories

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem! #HappyMemories

      Like

  13. I´ve been on this ferry twice now, last time was Nov 2015.
    I find it amazing as the Statue of Liberty comes into view for the very first time how small she seems ; )

    Any visitor to NYC must do this, it´s such a great view of Manhattan and Brooklyn from there. Also for the immigration story and Ellis Island which appears in so many films. It makes this so much clearer to understand.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t get to see Ellis Island, so maybe another time..

      Like

  14. New York has always been somewhere I have wanted to go! Thanks for the really informative post, I didn’t know any of this about the Staten Island Ferry! Also love your highlight, it’s the little things like that which make an experience so memorable! Great post! (:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Trust me, it is those little things…

      Liked by 1 person

  15. familyinfarawayplaces says:

    Sunset (or sunrise) definitely looks like the time to go to get the best photos! I grew up about 4 hours away across the Canadian border and it’s always been a great regret of mine that our family never made the trip. Some day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ikr, those pictures are always gorgeous. You can add it to your “Must See” list then 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Samantha says:

    I haven’t been to NYC yet… but I definitely want to take a ferry! Good tip about going during sunset. All boat-related activities are better closer to the end of the day!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Caitlin says:

    Sounds like a great way to see the city! I’ll have to check it out when I make it to New York one day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup, write it down!

      Like

  18. Great pictures. Looks like you had a great time. I remember going on the ferry when I was younger. I should really do this again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did, thank you! If you ever make a post about it, please feel free to send me a link.

      Like

  19. This post and the pictures brought back so many memories.. New York will always be in my heart! I cannot wait to go back!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Marie says:

    I love things like this! It is great to find such nice things to do in a city that are completely FREE. I live in New Jersey, but I’ve never taken the Staten Island Ferry. I think it is because I always visit the city around Christmastime, so it would be freezing! 😛 Maybe next time I visit I will try to visit in the summer so I can take the ferry at sunset. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, you’re soooo close by! Yea visit next summer & tell me how it went 😁

      Like

Leave a Reply

